dear neighbour who lives in the apartment above mine,

About three weeks ago, I was so pleasantly woken up to the sound of heavy pounding on my ceiling. Then came the sound of drilling and buzzing, so loud and strong that I could literally feel the floor vibrating beneath my feet as I walked around my apartment, or as I sat at my desk studying for my upcoming finals.

This continued for a delightful two weeks without pause. Every day from 9 am to about 5 or 6pm. Even when I took my dog down to the void deck at ground level for a walk, I could still hear the drilling that was taking place nine floors up directly above my apartment.

Speaking of my dog, it was cute initially how spooked she was at the incessant pounding and noise. First she kept trying to hide in our bathroom, and when she was chased out by my parents, she went looking for new hiding spots. Squeezed herself into a small little corner behind my laundry basket and behind a curtain. Under my chair. On my bed under the blankets. And even when she finally gave in to sleep curled at my feet, her ears would twitch continuously at the relentless knocking and pounding and drilling.

Two weeks in, my sister who was studying for her A levels that were less than two weeks away, was driven near crazy by you. My mum went up to politely ask when you would be done, and you said in a day or two. Then the noise intensified. I gave up watching the TV because I can’t lip-read and there’s a limit as to how high I can turn the volume on.

One and a half weeks later, it finally stopped! The knocking and pounding ceased. The floor stopped vibrating beneath my feet. I could actually go for more than a minute without hearing a THUD THUD THUD and a BZZZZZZ BZZZZ BZZZZ! Hallelujah. But the next day?

THUD THUD THUD THUD THUD THUD THUD from 9 to 6. BZZZ BZZZ BZZZ BZZZ BZZZ from 9 to 6.

I admit, I was very tempted on more than one occasion to yell out of my window, SHUT THE FUCK UP YOU FUCKING NOISY FUCKER! Not that you would have heard me over the noise you were making.

It’s now been three weeks and while the drilling has stopped, or at least happens only periodically instead of non-stop throughout the day, the pounding is still going on. Non-stop, I might add.

And yay, as I’m typing this there’s even more knocking and pounding right above my head. Lovely. You really couldn’t have picked a better time to self-renovate your house or whatever the hell you’re doing up there.

I’ve been tolerating you for three weeks now but I’m not sure how much longer I can do so. Really, here’s a giant thank you fuck you. 

Hopefully you’ll be done by the end of this year.

finger

Leave a comment